Provincial emissions from 1990 - 2014

These 2 charts are of Canadian Provincial emissions between 1990 and 2014. Nunavut's emissions are not included because Nunavut was not separated from the Northwest Territories (NWT) until April 1, 1999 and as a result their emissions were included with those of NWT before 1999.

The following chart illustrates each province's annual emissions as a percentage of their emissions in 1990, which is the base year for the Kyoto Accord. Of the larger provinces, Quebec has the largest reduction (92.7%), followed by Ontario (93.6%).

The table below indicates the percentage increases by province sorted by percentages from increases (Saskatchewan) to reductions (Yukon).

Province Percentage
SK 167.5
AB 156.2
BC 119.0
MB 115.0
NL 110.2
NB 94.7
ON 93.6
NWT 93.2
QC 92.7
PEI 91.7
NS 83.0
YK 49.9